how good is this equitity curve ?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Topsurfi, Mar 18, 2007.

1. Hello,

I would like to have some opinions from other traders who make money and have some statistics on their trading.

I have been trading futures since 1998 for 2 years with about break even, stopped because my business took to much time and resumed 2003.
    I am trading at IB and I trade nearly everything but I make most money in Dax Future and I am worst in Stocks and Euro.
    I average 200 trades per month.
    Trading for me is only hobby, more like playing poker, I have only very little money in my IB account (compared to what I have available less than 5%) but recently it is becoming really a measurable part of my income.
    I did some programing on automatic trading systems but could not find an edge. So my trading decisions are purely based on my feelings and experience. I have absolut no trading plan or certain triggers I use to enter or exit a trade.
    I use NO hard stops. My opionion about hard stops is that they do never allow to get most out of a trade - why should I give up the opportunity to change my decision about target or stop through the trade ?
    I am absolutely convinced that at least in Dax you will be wiped out after some months if you use tight stops. ´They'll eat you alive.
    As a result of my trading-style I typically make 3-10 days in a row where I make money and then have a day with a big draw-down where I erase 70% of the former gains. However the good thing is that there is still a positive effect visible in my account.

However I observed some really annoying things about my trading.
    I still have a hard time to switch my opinion. Once I think I know where the market is going I stick to that even if in hindsight its so easy to see I was dead wrong.
    I average down looser quite a lot.
    I nearly always trade against the main trend.