How good a track record is good enough ?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by tzheng, Aug 19, 2003.

1. tzheng

tzheng

I have been trading on my personal account for about 4 years now, and just recently start to feel consistency and calmness in my trading. I have a full time job and only IRA money ($30K+) to trade, with the 3 business-day settllement rule for cash account, my capital utilization is really low, still I managed 5% return per month for a few months, using only day-trade long strategy. Even when overall market went down, I still can only do long.

I am thinking about expanding out, and that likely involves efforts to convince other people I am good. My question is how good is good enough ? A record for 3 months, or 6 months ? Beat SPX by 5%, 10% ?

Thank you all.

2. Try 5 years as a meaningfull record.

--MIKE

3. How good of a salesman are ya?

4. jessie

jessie

You might get a few accounts with a track record measured in months, but any real money will want to see a few years, through a variety of market conditions. They will also especially want to see how you handle a BAD period, and what your "bounce back" is like, e.g. do you grind back up in a timely, orderly way, do you desperatly overtrade, or do you freak out and get paralyzed?. Neither you nor they will know that until it happens a couple of times. As for "how good", that is really somewhat less important to many people, especially institutional money, than your risk control and money management parameters. Your correlation to other markets is also a big consideration. If you do a little worse than the S&P, but do it during bear stock markets, that might be viewed more favorably than beating it by a bit when the market was up. Lots of folks are looking primarily for portfolio diversification from alternative managers. Hope some of that helps,
    Jessie