How does the SEC's definition of a trader effect me?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by PushHands, Aug 17, 2002.

1. After being away for awhile and now beginning to trade again, I wonder how the SEC's definition of a day trader will effect me. I believe they say that one must have $25k in order to be classified as a day trader, but is that mainly verbage and tax reasons (i.e. declare yourself a trader by profession and write off costs such as feed, brokerage fees)?

Currently I don't have plans to day trade aggressively since my account size can not handle such activity. So my trades selection is of paramount importance and I will be just watching a lot but I don't want to be restricted to swing trading just because of I don't meet their $25k requirement.

As I stated, my account size won't be anything near $25k but I wonder if a black suited SEC official will show up at my door with handcuffs since I haven't meant their requirement for a day trader just because I day traded.

2. Yep. They usually show up in pairs. Both dressed in black.

3. OHLC

OHLC

From a practical perspective, you wont be able to daytrade US stocks more than 3 times every 5 business days.
    Either your broker will prevent this (IB), or your account will be suppressed by the clearing firm (SWS).

OHLC

4. Flynn

Flynn

Actually you can daytrade and make more than 3 trades in 5 business days, but with no margin if your account balance is less than 25k.

5. Rigel

Rigel

If they catch you they give you a shot with a square needle in the left testicle, as required by law. I know four guys that had to have it and only one of them fainted, and they were all up and walking in only a few days so it's no big deal. No prison for first time offenders.

6. Amkeer

Amkeer