How does QuoteTracker work?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by high99, Sep 29, 2011.

1. high99

high99

I have been using it for about 13 years. I use my broker for the Quote source, and IQ Feed for the index feeds. So I understand that
    I am connected to my broker and also IQ Feed when it is running. Otherwise, is it also connected to TD Ameritrade somehow, or Jerry Medveds personal wireless laptop when he is sitting on the shitter?
    There is talk of TD shutting it down in the future. Why would it not still work if the software is downloaded on my hard drive? Any help would be appreciated.

2. LEAPup

LEAPup

No one seems to know the longevity of QT. I spoke with TD Ameritrade today, and they couldn't tell me anything.

3. high99

high99

Still didn't answer my question.

4. It has to be hosted on someones server for it to work. I also spoke with Ameritrade today and they keep telling me it will be there to use until it doesnt work any more and no more support after 2011....maybe. They said they just might have support next year it all depends on how many people use it so everyone call and tell them to keep it. I love QT, I use it everyday with no problems.

5. high99

high99

I suppose "when it doesn't work anymore" means when the data source changes its format, and the programs do not talk back and forth. A while back, MB Trading required two user names. One to connect with MB Trading, and a second one to connect with QT. That was new. It's stuff like that which would screw up the program. TD would have to make modifications. That is the million dollar question. Anybody know how many people used QT in its hayday, when still operated by the Medved gang? Hundreds? Thousands? Millions? Who knows?

6. Its like this... QT has to communicate to:
    1) The data sources you select
    2) QuoteTracker (TD Ameritrade) servers for registration validation, be it paid registration or free auto-reg for TDA Clients