How Do You Trade Channels for Price Action Traders ?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by ImAmine, May 5, 2017.

1. ImAmine

ImAmine

Hi,

I'm a price action trader and I'm building a system over channels but I found them very subjective and confusing.

My question is How do you trade channels ?

Thank You :)

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. speedo

speedo

There are some good traders on ET but an even larger number of the clueless who none the less don't lack for opinions. Everybody sees things differently, my advice would be to spend many hours watching price development. Draw channels if that's what you want to explore...patterns of price behavior will begin to emerge over time. Ultimately, you will have to trade what you see and not what someone else see's or claims to see.

3. llIHeroic

llIHeroic

Regarding trading channels; it can be quite a vast concept. First off; you're going to need to find some objective procedure for drawing channels as best as you're able. Remove as much subjectivity as possible or you will get nowhere.

The most commonly advocated method for beginners is to enter into a trend that is already existing. Every channel has a slope. The direction of the slope is the dominant direction of the trend. There will be non-dominant movement against the trend slope intermittently as higher highs or lower lows are made.

So you need to find a way to qualify the dominant direction of a trend; wait for non-dominant; and then enter into the return to dominance. Here are some basic entries of this type from ES yesterday. The dominant direction was qualified; non-dominant movement ran it's course, and then price began translating once again in the dominant direction. There are additional considerations such as exits and risk metrics for you to develop; but I'd recommend focusing on one thing at a time and making iterative refinements when you discover them.