How do you take those losses

Discussion in 'Trading' started by dddooo, Sep 25, 2002.

1. I am just beginning to trade and was wondering if you can help me with the issue of taking losses.

A simple example to explain what my problem is:
    Let's say I buy ABC at support for 56 expecting it to bounce. I set a mental stop at 55.95.

The trade goes against me and I see prints 55.99, 55.97, 55.95..... No problem, I am getting out. The problem is that more often then not the stock having just broken through support is beginning to run, I see prints at 55.90, 55.88 before I can blink my eyes. The spread widens and is 55.85X55.99 or something like that. Most of the time I panic and sell at the market - for 55.85 in this example. Technically speaking I observed my stop loss, maintained my discipline and got out of the losing position when the stop loss price was hit. On the other side my actual monetary loss was much larger than I had planned.

When I analyze the trade I usually find out that even though the decision to close the position was correct, the price I got was the worst price of that bar and the next several bars. If I did not panic and waited a little longer I would actually be able to get out with my original 55.95 price or close to it.

I tried that approach on a few occasions and when my stop was hit and the bid was way down I decided to wait a little believing that there would be some small bounce and I'd be able to get a better price. Of course in those cases the price kept going down and never looked back, I eventually got out with much larger losses - exactly what I was trying to avoid in the first place.

So I was wondering if there is a better way to actually set and take the stops.

TIA
    Dennis

2. You got out at your stp loss, but actually got filled at bigger loss. It's called slippage. Nothing much you can do about it.

Cheers!! :)

3. lescor

lescor