how do you quantify your performance

Discussion in 'Options' started by yip1997, Dec 1, 2006.

1. I did a simple analysis for all my option trading for this year. My average profit for each contract is around $10. I am a spread trader.

Since $10 a contract = 0.1 for each share and 0.1 is usually the bid ask spread. If I paid an extra 0.1 for each share I traded, I would have lost money.

Can any successful option traders share their performance here? I want to know when is a good time to size up.

2. what , no replies yet ? Add word "paper" to " traders" and you will get a lot of advises...J/K , YIP , I hope someone will reply to your questions.

3. gkishot

gkishot

I am looking to make about 30% annually on average.

4. Do you have a per contract measure?

5. jeffm

jeffm

It would help to know exactly how you came up with your $10 per contract number, which can be very deceiving.

For instance, you do a single spread trade with 10 contracts for a $1 credit. $1000 profit. Are you calling this a profit of $100 per contract? But its a spread, so you really traded 20 contracts. Now you're at $50 per contract. But wait...instead of letting the spread expire (which you certainly could have done), you closed it early for a 0.05 debit to reduce your expiration week risk. Now you have a $950 profit and you traded 20 contracts for $47.5 per. Or do you call it 40 contracts for $23.75 profit per contract? This winning trade just gets worse and worse :)

Do you include commish in your calculation?

At first glance, your $10 per contract number seems pretty low. Are you sure that is the "right" number?

More importantly, do you like the equity curve for your account?