How do you pick stocks?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by Cruzan, Oct 7, 2006.

1. Cruzan

Cruzan

Sorry, a raw newbie question:

I'm interested in stocks worth investing in that are currently trading below their moving average but am not sure how to select them. Naively, all I can see doing is going through, say, the Nasdaq 100 and S&P 100 and charting every stock to find those below their MA. This seems a bit too much work and I was wondering what other faster, better ways (as there obviously must be) are out there.

2. ozzie123

ozzie123

I usually use Yahoo's stock screener or OPX's (since I'm an option trader).

I usually pick the stock with high volatility (since beta is what drives the options price up -- generally speaking) and high trading volume.

Got some good trades but also dozens of bad ones and I can't seem to score a consistent profit on this one.

Any ideas?

3. Analyze all your trades:

1. Keep a journal.
    2. Study the charts.
    3. Do you see any commonalities among your successful trades and your unsuccessful trades?
    4. Do your stocks correlate well with the overall market (S&P 500 or NASDAQ Index)?
    5. Was the overall market in a downtrend, uptrend or sideways range?
    6. Were your stocks in a strong uptrend, downtrend or tight range?
    7. Did you enter a trade just before an earnings release and betting on the market reaction to the earnings release?

Just some ideas for you to look at.

Charles

4. djxput

djxput

Tons of ways to pick stocks ...

You seem to want to pick them using a certain criteria.

Using a stock screener (not sure if there are free ones out there or what).

5. ozzie123

ozzie123

Yep, doing this ;)

Yeah, this is actually what I'm doing for market timing. Usually I'm looking at the charts after I'm doing some research on fundamental analysis