How do you go about raising capital?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by sappjason, Apr 6, 2009.

1. I am a software engineer (by trade) and over the course of several years, have finally taught myself how to trade profitably. Over the course of the last year and a half, I have managed to completely automate my trading methodology via IB's API (and currently working on integration of NxCore's market data feed).
    My strategy is a "day trading" strategy that trades equities only and averages 17 trades per day (ends flat every night) and has an expectancy of .24. My current risk size is .22% of account equity and my win rate is 41.77% with a p/l ratio of 1.97 : 1 (largest draw-down was approximately 11% and lasted for 3 weeks).
    I currently trade with a 170K account, but am looking to attract more capital. 60K of that is mine and the remaining 110K is borrowed at a 4% rate. So, how do I go about attracting more capital at somewhat decent rates?
    My bottom line is now that I am consistently profitable, I would like to focus on spending more time developing additional automated strategies, rather than continue working at my current job.
    My current game plan is that I'll continue working at my current job for the next 1 to 2 years and at that point, I should have enough equity that I'll be able to comfortably quit, while still being able to grow the account and live our current lifestyle.
    If you don't feel comfortable leaving your response publicly, please feel free to send me a personal message.

Thanks for any input,

Jason

2. Millionaire

Millionaire

For someone risking only 0.22% of account equity a 11% drawdown is pretty large? Seems your trades must be highly correlated.

To answer your question, you might consider asking Freinds and Family for funding. With say a 50-50 profit split. If your system is any good people will throw money at you (assuming they trust and believe you).