How do you diversify your trades?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Sure Chap, May 17, 2016.

1. What's your trading setup? What portion of your portfolio do you allocate for longterm and short term trades? I'm still learning about trading and it looks like having a setup that is relatively safe in the long term is good, but I like the higher risk/reward of short term trading. If I become profitable swing trading (still negative) would it be better just to focus on short term swing trading? It seems to be fairly easy and safe to invest in stocks and etfs, but my returns aren't near what I want.

Any ideas, advice for a newbie?

2. K-Pia

K-Pia

Don't build a Chinese wall between timeframes.
    Since they are more than correlated. By that I mean ...
    If you blow up either of your account, it will have consequences.
    I think allocation depends on the setup VS his timeframe.
    You could ask Kelly (Criterion) for the allocation.
    It doesn't have to seem anything...
    It is what it is. Don't be fooled.

You diversify to disminish risk.
    It works by adding independent variables.
    It's the central limit theorem. The distribution,
    at the limit of diversification, becomes a bell curve.

Warren Buffet said :
    Diversification is protection against the ignorance.

If you're goal is to diversify then buy index or ETFs.
    A la Jack Bogle. Reduce costs. Dollar Cost Averaging...

If you want to time the market. Build strategies.
    Analyse them. Know the risk / reward, Max DrawDown, P(G) ...
    And allocate half what the kelly criterion tells you to allocate.
    Try to analyze each strategy, as well as the whole bundle.

Hope that someone else can answer.
    I gave you my fast & crude point of view.
    Don't know if it helps. Don't be afraid to ask.