How do you determine exits?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Daxtrader, Jun 25, 2007.

1. Daxtrader

Daxtrader

My entries are getting better but I just don't know when to exit. Sometimes i leave way too much money on the table. I'll scalp for 30 cents and see the stock fall another $1 an hour later. I try to use S/R levels but sometimes it's just not clear.

If I try to hold on the stock will flip on me and i'll just give it all back. Sometimes I feel like this donkey:

[​IMG]

2. bluedemon77

bluedemon77 Guest

Good question. The lack of responses tells me either people think it's a dumb question or don't have a good answer. I'm a rookie trader, so consider the source, but I think there are two main ways to make this decision:
    * the same reason you decided to enter the position should also tell you when to exit
    * you hit either your profit goal or maximum acceptable loss.

Because there is no Holy Grail, neither method works perfectly, but my testing tells me the first method produces better results. Odds are you will always end up with suboptimal results on individual trades. The goal is not to squeeze every last penny out of a trade as much as maximize the risk-to-reward ratio over many trades. HTH.

3. Get out after you either made enough money or lost enough money. A middle ground between those two extremes.

4. It's not a dumb question but there's dozens and dozens of past threads on this topic that has been answered in depth.

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/search.php?s=

Simply, many traders probably assume the thread starter will eventually use the search function to review the old discussions.

Mark

5. Pekelo

Pekelo

Because it is the most difficult to answer. Exits determine profitability. You can make any kind of entries, it is the exit that will decide if you made money, made enough money or lost only a little...

Also the question is too general. It really depends on your strategy and expectations, etc...