How do you advise your family and friends?

Discussion in 'Politics' started by axeman, May 20, 2003.

1. Ok... so now I know enough about trading to NEVER
    recommend it to family and friends unless they are
    prepared for an enormous commitment, which most could
    never do.

So my question is... when it comes to investment advice,
    what do you tell your family and friends?

S&P500 buy and hold?
    CD's? What?

Is there something really simple that the uneducated trader,
    aka "long term investor" average joe can do to get
    any kind of respectable return over the long run?

peace

axeman

2. I know exactly what you're saying. Good question.

3. I don't answer or advise on "what is the market going to do." or "where is a good place to put my money these days ?" or "what are you buying these days?" types of questions. I reply that I am a very short term trader and I don't care if the market is going up or down. I only care only that it is moving.

Some friends/family have asked me to trade some money for them, and I will likely do that sometime this year. I will ask them to limit the amount they place with me to about what they would spend on a trip to Vegas.

I do "walk them through" the principals of assett allocation and teach them to use Bill Sharpe's website:

http://www.financialengines.com/

DS

4. I ask them :

1. How long until they need the money?
    2. How much volatility they can handle?
    3. What other investments they have?

I am not trying to be coy, it is just that generally those things all factor into my recommendation(s). Also, I make it very clear to them that one size does not fit all in the investing world.

5. I TELL THEM TO STICK IT IN THEIR MATTRESS...

OR GET DRUNK WITH IT :(

(WHICH IS REALLY A METAPHOR FOR HAVE FUN WITH IT)

6. Ok.... what would you say for the following combinations:

1) 30 years, any amount of volitility
    2) 30 years, low volitility
    3) 10 years, any amount of volitility