How do quarters affect equitiy pricing?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Lojanica, Mar 18, 2010.

1. How do quarters affect equitiy pricing?

I would like to start discussion for learning purposes as to how the business quarters can affect equity and commodity pricing. I will add as much as possible however will defer to any and all that know more.

I study cycles and thus the interest.

2. I've been looking at this end of quarter business and cycle wise I think many on this board are up to something. End of the quarter signals "a window" of probable change in trend. When I boot up a weekly chart and look at the end of March, June, Sept. and of course Dec 31st these have all been possible major turning points. I'll post some weekly charts with stochastics to make my point.

I'm not good with chart sharing so forgive my ineptitude.

3. it doesnt. im 100% sure there is no profitable trading system based only on calender days/ moon cycles.

you might be seeing volatility related to 10Q reports or a seasonal affect with some commodities and small cap stocks but that goes both ways and is hard to determine causality.

4. I am studying the SP500 weekly and what I'm finding is that at the end of quarters what appear to be important zones for trend changes. I agree that you can't say on this date but it makes sense in that businesses and even the govt will often make decisions which could have market implications on or around the end of the quarter.

5. 1) Window dressing? End of the month, end of the quarter, end of the half and end of the year buying?
    2) The CRB / "Goldman Roll" in commodities? Look for the "volume pop" on the daily chart. :eek:

6. OK!!!

So now we have this swirl induced by rollovers, business quarter reporting, taxes, and monthly/quarterly, yearly cashflows.