How Do Professional Traders Define Profitablity

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by ironchef, Dec 23, 2016.

1. ironchef

ironchef

I am not a professional trader and I define profitability as when I beat the SPY benchmark for that year and longer term beat the cum SPY returns.

Do you define a profitable year differently?

xandman likes this.
  2. algofy

algofy

Your definition sounds reasonable to me.

ironchef likes this.
  3. xandman

xandman

Beat the SPY on a risk adjusted basis.

Though, I really need to get a better understanding of Alternative Investment benchmarks.

ironchef likes this.
  4. garachen

garachen

Pro traders talk about profitability in terms of average dollars per month. Sometimes bank traders will talk about dolllars per year.

Investors and asset managers think in terms of return and indexes.

If I were to ask another trader about his pnl I'd be very surprised and confused to hear anything other than dollars per month.

5. ironchef

ironchef

Thank you all for your comments. Very helpful.

I asked because I think there are differences in mindset and different approaches depending on one's definition of profitability. For example, an investor trades to increase his/her overall asset, i.e., like asset managers. A professional trader may focus on income vs increasing his assets under management.....

In that regard, I trade like an asset manager. My only objective is to increase my overall asset and beat a benchmark. Perhaps someone who trades for a living would focus on steady income per month like garachen said.

The followup question is: Are there fundamental differences in trading style, techniques if you are trading for income vs increase your overall asset base? To start the discussion, my postulate is income traders tend to trade and think short term so day trade or shorter term swing trade tend to be their approach. Asset traders trade longer terms instruments?

Regards,