How do I get an interview at the better prop firms?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by kmgilroy89, Jun 2, 2012.

1. I applied to Chimera Securities a few days ago, Trillium Trading last week, and SIG a couple of weeks ago. Nobody has contacted me back yet. Who should I contact next? Is it smart to contact alumni on Linkedin who work for these companies? Should I upgrade to the premium account for $30 and contact the recruitment manager via Inmail? What should I say? It appears that there are only a few quality firms in my area (NYC) and I want to maximize my chances of getting an interview at each of them.

Thank you.

2. R u a profitable trader

3. I'm a newbie with no trading experience. I am thinking about taking the Series 56. I see some firms pay for it. I want to be competitive, but is that a waste of time?

4. What do people think of me sending something like this to Trillium Trading?

Dear Trillium Trading,

I am Name and I emailed my resume and cover letter to Trillium Trading on May 23rd. I am curious as to if Trillium Trading requires the Series 56 Examination and if taking it in my spare time would help my candidacy? I see Trillium Trading as a premiere proprietary trading firm and I want to do everything I can to show that I could be a strong candidate for this company.

Thank you,
    Name

5. "curious as to if".....you don't need "as to"

after Examination, use a comma

"and if taking it in my spare time would help my candidacy" ... just delete it

after firm, use a comma

ok, enough editing for now

6. Thanks. I've always been a mediocre writer.

7. traderchi128

traderchi128 Guest

I would call them to follow up. Emails can get overlooked. Call and ask for whoever is charge of HR. I wouldn't even bother bringing up the series 56 stuff. You can't take it unless you are affiliated with a trading firm. So even if they say it might help, you can't take it.