How did you save up enough to trade?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by G_Jimbo, May 19, 2006.

1. G_Jimbo

G_Jimbo

I was just wondering how most traders saved up for their first trading account i.e. put aside money from their paychecks, etc and how long it took them to afford enough to begin trading.

I have been saving money from my work for over 18 months and I finally have enough for some tuition funds and a decent sized account after that.

So what about you?

2. iraq deployment...

3. I did it the old fashioned way, I earned it. I lived well within my means and was fortunate enough to get a GOOD job through my education and skills. I always devoted money to my 401K, Roth and personal investing/trading account. No matter how much or little I made I always saved and invested, constantly studying the markets.

Building wealth and capital is a process and doesn't happen overnight. There are many ways to do it, but the easiest is work hard, live well within your means and learn the value of a buck early. Don't learn by ruining your credit before you even get out of school like so many do. I also worked hard every summer and was able to graduate from higher education pursuits with less than 10K in debt. To this day the only debt I carry is the necessary debt of a mortgage, and I also have enough liquidity to pay that off if I had to.

It's all about having a plan and executing that plan. The earlier you start, the easier it can be done.

Good Luck!

4. G_Jimbo

G_Jimbo

How do day traders and position traders assign their funds?

For example, if a position trader had a total of 100k to trade with, would he only use 20% (20k) and leave the remainder for a rainy day, or would he trade the whole sum?

5. I once used a $2500 tax refund check to fund my futures account ...

( no I did not blow up this account )

:p

6. 300 bucks left over from college plus 50% of salary for about 3 years (starting salary was 135/week at IBM). This began in 1957.