How can you hedge an ETF that holds a basket of stocks?

Discussion in 'ETFs' started by c4ytan, Jan 30, 2009.

1. c4ytan

c4ytan

Hi, I'm fairly new to trading and wanted to get some advice on what would be good hedges for taking a position on an ETF like IWM (Russell 2000). If I am long IWM, what would be a good short and why? If I am short IWM, what would be a good long and why? Thanks.

2. If you are long 100 shares of the ETF; you could buy a put to hedge your position.

3. What movement in prices are you trying to capture?

4. You could buy and/or short-sell an ETF that is simultaneously long AND short IWM and be perfectly "hedged"! :cool:

5. Div_Arb

Div_Arb

The "yield to broker" would be very good for this sort of trade :)

6. "Financial professionals" have to make a living somehow. :cool:

7. c4ytan

c4ytan

Let me explain what I was trying to say...

Basically, if I am long Google and short Yahoo... I have a market neutral situation wherein if the whole market crashes, I can expect Google and Yahoo to both tank so even if I lost money on Google long, I would have made money on my Yahoo short.

Was just wondering what if you're holding a basket of stocks like the Russell 2000 index, how can you possibly hedge against that in the same manner as above?

I guess another way of looking at this is how do you hedge when your position is directly market-correlated?

8. There are a few things. First, Futures and Options, or there are inverse russell ETFs such as TZA (not sure if there is a 2x version). If you are long $100 of IWM you would only need to purchase $33 in TZA.

The other thing you could do is short some of the stocks in the R2k - look at TNA for example. 3x R2k ETF, we optimized the R2k from 2000 names down to 700 names. You could pick out some of those stocks and short them - but you will find that your finance and transaction fees will be higher than simply purchasing TZA outright.