¿how can one deal with incomplete option chains?

Discussion in 'Options' started by rtw, Feb 19, 2020.

1. rtw

rtw

regards to the experts who share valuable, constructive contributions in this forum.

i have been trading options for something like 18 months now. there are some symbols that are the most traded by the masses and every contract in their option chain has an outstanding quote for bid and ask at all times, and their spreads also tend to be mostly reasonable. i have screened for symbols with those characteristics and those are the only ones i trade. i operate under the assumption that for those contracts, the value halfway between the bid and the ask (midprice, midmarket, midpoint) is the closest one can get to a fair price or model price for any contract.

in contrast, there are a lot of individual stocks and practically all futures contracts where market makers cannot be bothered to offer quotes for bids or asks.

to illustrate this point, i share the option chain for aapl where every single contract has a quote for bid and ask at all times:

[​IMG]

and the following are the option chains for mkl and the rb futures contract respectively:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

if i wanted to place a trade in mkl or rb options, ¿how could a retail trader bid a reasonable amount for any of those contracts? ¿is it possible for a retail trader to have an approximation of the fair price or model price value? ¿is it possible for retail market participants to somehow approximate the pricing models that market makers use?

this is a situation that i have given a lot of thought to, it would be great to know the perspectives of the most knowledgeable experts regarding options contracts in these fora.

very well, thanks, regards.

2. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

Even if you *found* a 0-miles perfect condition (grande concourse) Delorian AT A 'FAIR' PRICE, would you want to buy it?

If you just wanted to drive the car, then Yes! And you'd do backflips at your outrageous luck.