How Can It Be That The Spreads Are So Wide on OEX Options?

Discussion in 'Options' started by birdman, Mar 21, 2003.

1. birdman

birdman

I'm new to following index options ... at the close of day 3/20/03 OEX was trading at $449.92

In the money call options at strike price $445. were bid at $3.30 while the Ask was $8.10

I must be missing something ... How can this be? Why such a huge spread? How do OEX option traders make money with a spread like that?

Thanks

2. lrm21

lrm21

You trade with Limit orders for one. Also you trade very carefully.

here is someone who has had some decent success trading OEX options. Although he has had a bad beat this month.

http://www.daytradertoad.com

Cheers,

LRM

3. I have wondered the same thing: How come QQQ options have a decent spread, whereas SPX and OEX options seem to have one market maker only? Does anyone know details?

4. white17

white17

OEX is proprietary to the CBOE. Thats the big reason for the huge spreads. I think another reason is obviously the risk involved. This thing can move quickly due to futures on S&P.

If you saw 3.30 x 8.10 or something like that you must have been looking at a screen after the close. I am guessing you are talking about March options in your example.

You can watch the spread get larger as the premium increases. Example; last week I bought the April 430C @ 8. The spread at the time was approximately 7.80 x 8.70. That same Call today was 30.00 x 32.50

I like the OEX and you can make some money there but the spread is truly awful.

5. Lack of interest, why do you think?

You obviously didn't trade the OEX pit in the late 80's and Early '90s at the CBOE. It was the cock-of-the-walk.

Now?

Guffaw!

6. "I like the OEX and you can make some money there but the spread is truly awful"

i never play the oex. im curious.is it possible to get between the spread on these?

7. rs7

rs7