How can I set this business up?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by TradeNYSE, Jul 31, 2007.

1. I work prop currently, but have been working on an extensive trading strategy that is so large I cannot handle it on my own. Just too many symbols to look at. In theory, I would like to hire on 4-5 other traders to trade the system with me (ex I handle symbols A-F, another trader F-K, etc...) These traders would not be making any independent decisions, they would just be staring at a spreadsheet and executing the trades they needed to each day based on my system.

They would be paid a very small base + bonus depending on execution (lack of slippage from ideal execution price).

I would only need these traders for the opening hour of each trading day.

I have thought about automating this process, but would have no clue where to start with that, being that I have no programming background, and not sure I want to pay someone to program it (and also therefore revealing the heart of the strategy). With these traders, they would pretty much have no clue what the system is looking for and would have no access to the formulas, algo's, etc...

Is there a way to set up my own LLC/LP, require the traders to put money down, but I take control of how the compensation % is handled?

Sorry, just very clueless as to the best way to try to get this done. Any help is greatly appreciated.

2. Arnie

Arnie

If you can show someone what to do and when, you should be able to program this. If you need "traders" then it sounds like you are allowing for some discretion on their part and then maybe its not possible to prgram this. I have traded the OO's and I am pretty sure I could figure out your algorithm after a while if I traded it every day.