How can I participate in an IPO in the CSE (Canadian Stock Exchange) as a US citizen & Resident.

Discussion in 'Trading' started by CannabisIPO253, Nov 8, 2018.

1. I am wanting to participate in the Acreage Holdings IPO which is going public on the CSE (Canadian Stock Exchange) later this month but haven't been able to figure out how to do so. I am a US resident and Etrade and Robinhood--which I have accounts with-- do not allow me to participate in this IPO, because I am a US resident. Which brokerages should and can I use?

2. ajacobson

ajacobson

Unless you're a qualified investor and are offered "friends and family" it very difficult and you'll most likely be subject to a lockup. Try talking to the Canadian underwriters.
    We just had a company we know come public on the CSE and we were offered f and f with a six-month lockup. It's a cannabis edibles company.

Good luck.

Last edited: Nov 8, 2018
  3. How do you mean by lockup and Canadian underwriters? How would I become a qualified investor?

4. ajacobson

ajacobson

Qualified investor means at least $1,000,000 net worth excluding primary residence - and a couple of hundred thousand in income over the last couple of years.
    Lockups are generally 6 months - so you won't be able to sell until post lockup.
    Do you know someone inside the company to get you on to f and f list?
    You may also be required to buy the f and f minimum and that varies.
    So overall it's gonna be a bit pretty difficult if you are a small investor.

Canadian underwriters would be the brokerage houses bringing(underwriting) the deal. If you go the CSE site and look at the trading in the cannabis name you'll get a sense of who brings these kinds of offerings.

If you are not a qualified - sometimes called accredited investor - then forget about a shot at the IPO.

5. ajacobson

ajacobson

Here are some firms to try if you are accredited.

Bid Broker Bid Size Bid Price Ask Price Ask Size Ask Broker