How can I overcome this fear?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by traderdave72, Sep 21, 2006.

1. Hello all,
    I would like some decent feedback because what I am writing about is a serious issue and I am serious about overcoming this. I have been trading for about 1 1/2 years and daytrading everyday for about 4 months. I have read just about every book there is on daytrading and taken mentoring classes along with purchasing several different strategies and even taking the Daytrading University's online course. I have spent numerous hours studying charts, keeping records and journals and have finally come up with a trading plan which is basically a pattern following system. My problem seems to be staying in the trade long enough to take decent profits. My winning trades far outnumber my losing trades(I am not bragging here) but a couple of my losers wipe out my entire winnings because of the fact that I am taking very small gains and sticking to my stops. I have even tried to scale out but seem to end up taking profits. Another big problem seems to be hesitating to enter the trade and before I know it its to late to enter. I papertraded my trading plan for about a month and did very very well with it. I am here to tell everyone that papertrading is no where near the real thing emotionally. Today I became so frustrated at a loss that I decided to load up on shares to play catch-up and ended up losing my ass today :(. I have a very small account with major leverage because I am with a prop firm. I don't need to hear about how stupid it is to trade with leverage because if you use stops and stick to a maximum amount of loss per trade then you are not over doing it. I usually trade only about 200-400 shares depending on my stops. Can anyone offer some advice as to how were able to overcome this? This is definitely holding me up from advancing in my trading career. If I could just get over this hump I think I could have the potential to do very well. I have never pu