Home Defense Shotgun

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by marketsurfer, Jun 25, 2013.

1. I have not been an active gun user for over 20 years-- however, I have extensive past experience skeet shooting, pistol target shooting, and both bow and gun hunting for small and big game---- Despite my old experience I am out of the loop of gun culture-- with this said, What would you reccomend for a home defense shotgun? thanks! surf

2. Lucrum

Lucrum

Pretty much the same as what was available 20 years ago.

3. Remington, Mossberg, Benelli, FN, Stoeger and others all make tactical shotguns. Like lucrum said, they haven't changed much except for the furniture and accessories.

Major choice will be between a pump gun and auto. Or you could get a double. Stoeger makes a neat stage coach gun. 12 gauge is standard although 20 is not out of the question, particularly if women or kids might have to use it. Ammo manufacturers now offer various self defense loads although I suppose 00 buckshot is still the most popular.

4. wartrace

wartrace

Inexpeensive but reliable would be the Mossberg 500 pump. I have a "500 cruiser" model (pistol grip) that I keep in a credenza by my desk loaded and ready to go. I think you can pick one up for under 300 bucks.

Expensive- Benelli. I have a Benelli M3 combo pump/semi-auto with an extended magazine that I bought for around 900 dollars.

If I were expecting trouble the Benelli would be out of the gunsafe as a back up to my primary defensive weapon the M1a.

5. Magna

Magna Administrator

All major mfgs (ie, Remington, Mossberg, Benelli, etc.) make excellent weapons. Pumps have the advantage of the "racking" sound that scares off novices but not professionals. They are also simpler mechanically and cost less than semis. Semi-autos have the advantage of less recoil and easier operation, especially for someone very nervous in a life-or-death situation. Both methods are effective with proper training. As to "best" gauge AAA mentioned earlier: