Home alone vs office

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by illiquid, May 15, 2002.

1. Was wondering how many out there have traded both at home and on-site at a direct-access brokerage for an extended period and what they thought of the (dis)advantages of either situation.

I've been daytrading for a couple years from my home with little or no contact at all with other traders. Since 4x1 buying power came along, I've had a tendency to take very high risk intraday trades which have done wonders to my account drawdowns. This has lead me to think about trading with my own equity at a firm which could also provide some risk management as per my own instruction. Anyone have thoughts or suggestions here?

2. You have to learn how to control your own trading; what you are asking is not their risk management's responsibility. In a firm like that you will be afforded increased margin; and since they are in the commission business, they probably won't dissuade you from using/abusing it.

3. Good point.

What about trading in an environment with other (hopefully fairly successful) traders? I've been trading for quite a while on my own but have been frustrated as of late; recently, I have put on some truly horrible trades out of pure emotion (too embarrassed to even post them here :) ) Has anyone ever tried trading with a partner or group of people who you would always reveal every position you took, if only to keep an even keel during the trading day? I know that asking others about your position is a sure sign for you to get out, but in this case all I'm referring to is an exposure of one's positions for risk management's sake. Would that work in the long run, or is it the case that if you can't make it alone, it won't matter anyways . . .

4. I have to agree with Metoxx. I trade for a prop firm with none of my own money...and I traded at their office for first 2 1/2 years...and now Im a remote trader...since 9/1/2002.