Holding Deep ITM Calls, What To Do Next?

Discussion in 'Options' started by artvandaley, Dec 14, 2019.

1. Hello All,

I'm holding $40 Jan '21 BMY calls. BMY is currently trading at $63. With another year to go before exp, I was wondering if it would be in my best interest to either roll them up a bit and/or roll them forward to '22, or just continue to hold them. This is in my roth account.

Thanks!

2. I'm a swing trader and I have come to avoid LEAPS and hold stock instead.

3. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

I would suggest posing 3 questions, three times:
    What if the stock goes to $80?
    What if the stock goes to $65?
    What if the stock goes to $50?

I would pose that question "immediately", and 9 months out, and "at expiration."

Those 9 answers will steer through a lot of fog. (And BTW, those questions shold be posed *before* you take on an ITM LEAP.:confused:)

spindr0, ironchef and Overnight like this.
  4. Thanks for the replies!

Tommcginnis, At the time of my purchase, BMY was around $45 and was really only creeping up and down. I was just hoping we'd be at $60 by Jan '21, didn't expect to get there a year early. This was one of my first option transactions, so I'm still fairly new to the strategy. Obviously I got lucky with this one. Anyway, unless it drops below $60, at which point I would sell, I would just assume to hold until expiration, as it's looking strong, but again, I don't know if it would behoove me to take some sort of action here or not. Let's say I believe we'll hit $70 before expiration, what would be the preferred route to take?

5. drcruz

drcruz

I did a back test of SPX naked call options and in 2013 the position was destroyed. I swore I'd never sell a naked call again nor sell covered calls on stock I wanted to keep. On the put side I decided to close any position for a 1x loss. This may be the best option (no pun intended) for the call side, basically the old wise adage, "take your loss". Count the loss as tuition.