Historical Quotes

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by Elden, Feb 1, 2002.

1. Elden

Elden

I'm sorry to intrude here, because there isn't really much that I can contribute in the way of conversation on investing. I do have a problem though, and I'm reaching the point of desperation.

I am a full-time student studying to become a software engineer, but I've always had an interest in investing. One of my "pet" projects is a stock market monitor/analyzer, but I've hit a major stumbling block. I know there are many commercial software packages out there that do this, but I'm not studying programming to use other peoples' software. :D

At this point, all I would like my utility to be able to do is to take a daily snapshot (open/close prices) of all available stocks. I don't need live data for this. Actually, I'd be happy just to find any source for daily historical open/close prices, even if it were months or years old.

I did find a list of stock symbols from 1997, and have programmed random fluctuations in price per symbol to test my reporting engine. The problem is though that I can't put much faith in the output without running it on genuine historical data.

I know there are plenty of lookup tools available online, but none of them seem to offer an entire market snapshot, historical or otherwise. You have to enter each individual stock symbol to get any information.

I did find some sites that apparently offer what I'm looking for (ascii, downloadable file) as a sideline to their subscription services, but I just can't bring myself to pay $50/month for a host of services that I have neither the knowledge nor expertise to use, especially when all I really need is "yesterday's news" so to speak.

So, does this mythical beast even exist? Any sightings or rumors out there of whole-market (daily) historical data?

2. TGregg

TGregg