Historical daily ranges

Discussion in 'Forex' started by October, Oct 27, 2004.

1. October

October

I've been studying the markets for about 4 years now and up until the past 6 months, was about breakeven trading index futures. I have been trading forex, both futues and spot, for about 6 months and have been consistently profitable. The daily ranges and the way the currencies trend is unbelievable and I'm wondering if it has always been like this.
    I can view daily charts up to 10 years ago and see what the ranges are, but I cannot tell how the currencies act within the day. Does anyone have access to a 5min daily chart of the pound and the franc from 10 years ago that they could post? Maybe a narrow range day, and a large range day.
    I'm just wondering(and praying) this lasts. I don't know why people say to stay away from forex. I think it's the best trading vehicle out there. But to each his own I guess.

2. The Forex market is said to be the most trending market there is...

It definetely looks that way..

3. damir00

damir00 Guest

how can forex be "the most trending market there is" when any given pair is rangebound due to endless central bank interventions?

4. dbs119

dbs119

damir, everyone sees the trend in different ways. I think that whatever trendfollowing method you choose, it will perform better on EurUSd than SP500./daily bars/.
    Intraday- the action is choppy sometimes...

5. damir00,

Depends on which timeframe you are looking for a trend.

6. May

May