High Probability ETF Trader

Discussion in 'ETFs' started by Ragnarok, Aug 28, 2007.

1. Ragnarok

Ragnarok

Hello,

Longtime reader, first time poster. Been enjoying the forums for a while and decided to try and get involved now that I started trading a new strategy that I think has some promise.

About me...
    I have a full time job as a software consultant but I've been in trading my own stocks/options portfolio for about 10 years and was also part of an automated trading partnership as a side venture. In other words, I'm not a full time trader but I think I know some stuff.

The strategy...
    I've been researching some overall market indicators that I think show a lot of promise and have cobbled together a loose methodology that I can hopefully refine as the year progresses.

The gist of the system is a overbought/oversold indicator that I'll use to take a long or short position in the overall US stock market via SPY, SSO, QID, QLD. I'm still working on a methodology for closing trades so right now I use a combination of "gut" feeling and an arbitrary period of 1 month. My goal is to outperform the S&P 500 in 2007 by 5-10 percentage points. I'm hoping my methodology will allow me do do this while simultaneously reducing risk/volatility.

Based on the past few years, I'm only expecting to make 1-10 trades per year so some may find this journal a little boring. Some may look at this as more of an asset-allocation strategy - which suits me just fine.

I actually started trading this strategy about a month ago when I received a "Sell" signal in Early July. I'll start my journal with this trade - because it was the first day I started trading this system - which is significant to me.

<b>
    7/3/2007 Buy 500 QID for 22,340.00
    8/15/2007 Sell 500 QID for 23,939.64
    Net Gain: 1,599.64 (7.16%)
    </b>