Hey everyone just a few ?s

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by briancox89, Aug 1, 2006.

1. Hey Im Brian and Ive been tradeing for a really long time, but really seriously for about 4 months. I basically tech to make money.
    Im in HS right now and plannign on going to college. Has anyone here traded as a broker in college? Also Im planning on doing a science as my undergrad and Finance as my Masters.

How hard id it to get a job in a hedge fund as a market anaysist?
    How much experience do most people have before starting their own hedge fund?

Thanks

2. newguy1

newguy1

i just want to tell you PLEASE don't take offense to any of the posters. If you're as young and emotional as I was when I was in H.S, it's bound to irritate.

Don't respond to anyone who flames on you and just keep a level head. Best of luck.

3. syrre

syrre

Hi Brain

I think its good to start early, then you can be good before you get too old.
    I started trading equities when i was in what you can compare to HS in US (thats about a decade ago now).
    I do not regret that i started early, even tho i had almost no clue about what i was doing
    :D

You will learn alot from trying and maybe also failing, but thats part of the game. I have learnt ALOT more on my own than in school. When i started working as a broker i noticed that many of the others in office with top papers from college didnt understand shit of markets or trading. So much for those papers.

That HF thoughts of yours is exciting, but you may wanna wait for many years.

Good luck, and if someone are trying to make a fool out of you - just stay cool.
    You seem like a talented kid - you wouldnt bring a knife to gunfight - so no need to argue here yet :cool:

4. jho

jho

Maybe you should go back and redo grade 8 English before you think about college.

*That was for you newguy :D

Welcome to ET Brian!

5. My advice - don't daytrade in class. My grades are in the pooper because I never paid attention!