Henry Blodget investment wisdom

Discussion in 'Trading' started by a529612, Jan 8, 2007.

1. "When I was a stock analyst, people often asked me what they should do with their money. Within the Internet sector, I often had some ideas. When the question was broader, however, I usually didn't. As a sector analyst, I didn't know what strategy made sense for any particular individual. Also, like many analysts, I knew more about how to invest intelligently in a single industry than how to invest intelligently overall.

I am no longer a stock analyst, and, thanks to a regulatory disaster (see below), I can no longer give personalized advice. But people still often ask me what they should do with their money. And after a few more years of experience and research, here's what I tell them:

Diversify your assets, reduce your costs, and get out of the way."

http://www.wallstreetselfdefense.com/

2. FOAD

3. He didn't seek the help of a professional adviser.

4. Blodget is a terrible stock forcaster

5. I'm not sure, but I think a529612 was trying to be ironic when he described it as "investment wisdom" in his initial post.

Here's more about the concept of irony:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irony

I quote:
    "Irony, from the Greek ειρων (self-deprecator), is a literary or rhetorical device in which there is a gap or incongruity between what a speaker or a writer says, and what is generally understood (either at the time, or in the later context of history). Irony may also arise from a discordance between acts and results, especially if it is striking, and known to a later audience. "

[...]