helped or hurt my future career?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by familyguy88, Aug 11, 2009.

1. I finish my undergraduate degree soon and am looking at either pursuing a job in finance or potentially law school. My life was a little different then others though and currently causes a debate whether or not my decisions helped or hurt my ability to either get a job in finance or get a job with a law firm after or during law school.

When I was finishing high school I realized my parents were beginning to have financial problems and would not be able to pay for my education. I had developed a interest in online poker so I did some math and realized my hourly rate would be higher playing then getting a random job at like starbucks. Through the end of high school and first and second year university I studied poker and the math behind it and made good money (around 60,000-70,000 in just over a year after tax) and by investing it I have been able to travel pay my bills, all school, car etc and have about 30,000 left that might go towards law school if i choose to attend.

Since I was playing poker I have not had a "real job" for 6 years aside from volunteering a few times a month when they needed help. The flexibility however allowed me to study finance and stay current on news etc and i thought all this would be beneficial to my future. Now the debate that starts is whether my decision to play poker/invest instead of a real job has hurt me since i do not have work experience. Some even say i would be better if i had student loans but at least work experience. By work experience i mean just menial type jobs nothing relevant to a career.