Help with Trade Entry Using TP

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by kempo, Mar 6, 2001.

1. kempo

kempo

Hello Everyone:

There seem to be some incredibly knowledegable traders here and I was hoping for some direction:

I am a new trader and I have been using Trade Prospector trying to learn to trade JNPR and CIEN. The TP signals seem to work well enough, but I keep getting whipsawed out of my positions. Then I chicken out and price moves in the right direction.

I will risk 1/4-1/2 pt. in general (I'm sure my stops could be more accurate). When price approaches major S/R on a 5 minute chart, I drop down to a 1 minute chart and look for a close above/below the S/R, enter the trade...And then I hold my breath.

I don't know if I don't have enough patience in the trade or whatever else might be wrong. I'm not losing big, but I will slowly bleed to death. Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,
    Kempo

2. Dustin

Dustin

What size are you trading? Do you have access to naz/s&p futures?

3. kempo

kempo

Dustin,

Thanks for your reply! I am trading 100sh and yes I have access to futures. I use QCharts and have my account with Interactive Brokers. I am also trading between 8 and 10 round trips a day.

Kempo

4. Dustin

Dustin

First of all since you are a beginner you should know that this market is pretty tough, especially if you can only trade 100-200 shares of the more volatile stocks. Last year trading 100 JNPR would be much more profitable then 100 shares now.

That said, if you find that you are being stopped out of every trade, but in the end you are usually right, maybe you should widen your stop. Try 3/4 if you need to. If that doesn't work, then your system needs to be adjusted, and you should stop trading until you figure out what's wrong. Your account needs to live to trade another day ;-)