Help with my 1st GUN purchase

Discussion in 'Politics' started by PiggyBank, Jan 8, 2013.

1. So since this Sandy Hook episode I've felt an urge to arm myself.. not because I feel threatened but because we all know some type of bs ban is going to be attempted. I wanted to do the same thing after the batman shooting but put it off. I've sorta always wanted a gun but I don't have any firearms training and I've only ever shot some pos .38 pistol, and only a few rounds at that.

I've done some research and I want an AR-15 :D. I have NO experience whatsoever with a rifle, none, zip, zero. I've never even held one. In my state the laws currently aren't too strict and AR-15's are allowed, along with 30 round mags etc.

Anyway, most of the vendors online seem completely sold out of finished rifles, and I've been to two gun stores near me and they are both sold out. My questions are:

1) should I buy one used, (assuming I can find one)?

2) In your opinion who are the best parts makers? I've was reading threads on ar15.com and other forums, seems like Bravo Company, Palmetto State Arms, Noveske, Daniel Defense all have good reviews. I was looking at buying a complete BCM rifle but they sold out really fast lol.

3) Should I buy a complete rifle or purchase the parts separately and assemble myself?

4) My understanding is only the stripped lower receiver counts as a firearm in the eyes of the law as it carries the serial num.. if I just buy a receiver or two now, will I be able to get parts for it after a ban (if it is the same as the clinton ban)?

5) The law seems to be if you order online, that you must have it shipped to an FFL, is that correct, and if so how does that work?

2. You're buying at the most expensive time right now, don't follow the lemmings. Wait until a republican is president. Buying now is like buying at the top of the real estate bubble, not smart.