help with equity curve

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by jlo1958jets, Feb 26, 2009.

1. I am new to trading (6 mos.) and especially new to automated trading. I have been experimenting with Tradestation and put together what seems to be a good strategy. I have attached the equity curve for the last 12 months. The strategy trades 2 contracts on the S&P e-mini. The performance report shows a $64,000 profit with a max drawdown of $3,800 for the last 12 months. The 24 month performance is $96,000 with a $5,300 drawdown. The strategy basically takes advantage of large daily swings which seems to be the present state and could be for some time. I am not so naive to think I came up with some brilliant strategy. I suspect that backtesting and optimizing can allow anyone to come up with a great equity curve....for the past. Without attacking my newbieness (is that a word?), I would love some feedback on why I should be wary. Thanks!

2. [/QUOTE].........why I should be wary.[/QUOTE]

1) When will you feel confident enough to trade the method?
    2) Your method is built around the "past". What will you do if the market deviates strongly from what you "expect" it to do?
    3) Do you even have enough money to establish a trading account that can comfortably margin the contract(s) you want to trade?
    4) How do you believe you'll deal with drawdowns, especially large drawdowns?
    5) Your method may be "optimized" towards a strongly trending environment. You should get chopped-up if the market stagnates or becomes range-bound. :cool:

3. thanks for the reply!