Help -Where to start?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by joeythebull, May 12, 2005.

1. Can anyone help point me in the right direction to learn how to trade Forex, books, websites, etc... How does it compare to trading stocks, i.e, profits, difficulty, leverage, hours to trade, etc...I am a total newbie to this so any help or advice from some of the more knowledgeble members would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. Best thing is to trade a paper account, and write and develop your plan (the key) as you go. And read the posts here related to your current issues, problems.

Its like learning to play tennis - a long learning process and you can always get better. Just have a plan you develop.

3. Just found Moneytec and I think all my questions can be answered there.

4. Skog

Skog

5. dete49

dete49

6. Joey,

I am also beginning to study Forex trading. I would recommend you register for a few demo accounts with some of the brokers, and get their demo application so you can play with it. This gives a good feel of what you are up against.

Some links.

A quick summary of Forex
    http://www.tradingmarkets.com/.site/AboutTM/general/comingtw/12312003-36206.cfm?psrc=forexdropdown

A good Java based demo account
    http://www.realtimeforex.com/

FX Trading Station demo account
    http://www.fxcm.com/

Global Trading Systems (GTS) demo account
    http://www.fxsol.com/

Hope it helps, good luck.

7. A further comment on demos...

I've found that some brokers' demos are different than their real trading platform.

If you download a demo, use it, feel comfortable with its features, and decide to open a live trading account, suddenly you find out that the live platform is DIFFERENT than what you experienced on their demo, if it is a negative experience I'd suggest you close your live account, drop that broker and move on to another broker.