help w/ IRS wash sale rule

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by garbo, Dec 8, 2005.

1. garbo

garbo

Can anybody point me towards a succint explanation of the WASH SALE rule? This is my first year with a good profit and my first year worrying about this crap.

I am using Tradelog for my IB and Tradestation accounts. I found this link: http://www.armencomp.com/tradelog/wash_sales_avoid.shtml

My confusion is that in the Tradelog report (Gains & Losses), I see a bunch of wash sales listed over the past year (e.g. QQQQ in July 2005). It's December now and I don't have any position in those stocks. Can I buy them back in January if I don't trade them in December? What if I do trade them in December and have a net loss in that stock for the year?

What a pain in the rear. Is it time to go Mark to Market?

2. gnome

gnome

Wash Sale...

If you sell at a loss and buy the same security back within 30 days, you can't claim the loss but rather get to include the loss in your cost basis on the subsequent buy.

It's a pain in the neck. It has no overall tax consequence except perhaps shifting taxes payable from one year to the next. It really should be repealed.

3. If you do not trade them in all of December 2005 and you do not hold positions in them in any of December, then buying them back in January 2006 would not create a wash sale since you went 30+ days without being in those stocks.

4. It has significant tax ramifications, that's the reason for it. Congress did not want filthy rich folk to wipe out their tax bill by merely shuffling some stocks around with no real economic substance.