Help understanding Collective2 and how it relates to existing tools

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by cstobler, May 23, 2019.

1. cstobler

cstobler

Hi, I have been lurking on the forums here for awhile now, but this is my first time posting! I have been discretionary trading for awhile now, but I am looking to finally get into algo trading, and I have started looking into tools.

I found out about C2, and it seems really interesting, but I am wondering what it offers that other solutions do not (I only really know about Amibroker). Can somebody give the noob breakdown for me regarding what C2 can do vs what Amibroker or ??? other tool can do.

Since I have yet to actually get into this, if there are any other tools that you can recommend, that would be greatly appreciated. I already code for a living, so I doubt picking up a new language would be that challenging, but I have a lot to learn about building strategies.

Thanks,

Charlie

2. cstobler

cstobler

Ok, so upon doing more research, it seems that C2 is a way for people to trade, and others to use those traders as a "black box" without writing those strategies themselves. Which is an awesome idea, but does C2 have a platform to write algo strategies? What is the best platform(s) to backtest and create strategies?

3. userque

userque

https://collective2.com/about-seetu

Ninja Trader is one of them. Whether it's "the best" ... depends.

cstobler likes this.
  4. cstobler

cstobler

Thank you for your response. So I have yet to try either of them, but since you can do all of those things on Ninja Trader, do you think it would be better to just do everything there? It would seem inefficient to develop a strategy in Seetu and then somehow "port" it over to a different platform where I can actually trade (since I am just interested in trading my personal account until I am more experienced.)

5. userque

userque