Help Please!

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by VERTIGO, Apr 12, 2006.

1. VERTIGO

VERTIGO

OK - Let me start by giving you my background. I have a solid degree in economics and an MSc in financial markets. After graduation I became an interbank dealer and I live in London.

I have recently decided to actively trade (mostly through spreadbetting websites) and I have been relatively lucky at it. I transferred around 3K to my account and now I have 5K in it (after a week and a half of trading). All my trades so far have been based on gut feel and fundamentals (I am mostly trading the FTSE, SA TOP40, Nikkei and oil - I am currently sitting on a huge short oil position btw). I just now started reading technical indicators and I know that I am taking way too much risk on my trades. My exposure is sometimes massive allowing my to lose up to 35% of my capital. I do place stops but in a subjective manner and I often move them back (like I have been doing with oil lately due to conviction that crude prices won't go above 71 and nothing will happen out of Iran in the short term). I know what you are thinking...this is all a recipe for complete DISASTER and that is why I am posting this thread. I need help!

Firstly, I might be wrong but am not convinced that spreadbetting accounts are the best way for one with relatively low capital to trade. I would like your opinions on trading platforms. Should I stick to spreadbetting for now or switch into a broker or CFDs?

I also know that I need some STRUCTURE into my trading....maybe some in/out rules to follow. Like I said, I have started reading TA books but my problem is I dont know where to get the intraday/daily price data from...and I dont know a good TA software to use. If you guys were starting out today, what software would you recommend? I also have no money management/risk strategy.