Help opening individual account

Discussion in 'Options' started by Tyler Durden, Jul 10, 2005.

1. Im trying to open an account with IB, but i noticed they ask you how long you have been trading to "consider" if they should open an account for you or not. I dont know if i answer honestly if ill be denied an account or will not have full access to all the option plays i would like to do. Im learning about options at a hasty pace, and feel I have a lot of knowledge, but lack of experience might hold me back.

What answre will allow me to open an account with them for the "years of experience" and "# of trades per year" boxes for the stocks and options areas?

2. KevinK

KevinK Guest

If you are ONLY trading options, than I would go to thinkorswim.com, thats where I trade options, and the commissions are cheap enough, especially for a small account. Easy to open also.
    hope this helps (I had not exp. w/ IB)
    KK

3. Choad

Choad

AFAIK most brokers won't bother checking to see if you really traded at other brokers, or run a credit check, or ask for pay stubs, tax returns, etc., unless you are opening a very large account and want to sell naked calls or something.

They ask for all that experience, because they don't want their clients to lose all their money. And if you do and complain, they will just point out the signed agreement at arbitration that says you are experienced.

And of course, if you do lose all your money it's your own fault...unless you have an Etrade account and it was stolen!

4. I heard that if you lie on the application, men in black coats show up at your door.

5. Tyler; from another post I saw I'd assume you're a beginner to intermediate options trader. If you're going to trade stock options I'd recommend thinkorswim. They cost a bit more, but the service and software you get (especially for a beginner) will more than make up for it.

IB is a good broker, but they're not going to hold your hand - at all.