Help needed from potential emini trader

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Robertwiz, Nov 24, 2011.

1. Hello,

I am a novice looking into trading emini's. I am wondering the following:

1. What is slippage like when trading the various emini's?

2. What is a great demo in terms of indicators and realistic feel to use for practice?

3. Which one of these, do you think is best for day trading: ES, NQ, or Dow.

I would appreciate any thoughts or insights.

Thanks

2. 1. ES is the tightest of all markets. Slippage is virtually non existent. NQ and YM can have issues at certain times of the day, but nothing like the other markets. All three stock indexes have a lot more problems than slippage.

2. Hopefully you have at least 10k to start with, in which case you can open an account with IB (interactivebrokers) and trade in a paper account which is just the same as a real account and learn the difference between ES NQ and YM.

3. Each index has it's own special charaterisitics which may be to your liking or not. YM has specific stock risk. You may like that if you have an idea on one of the Dow 30 Stocks. NQ can be volatile if something is going on in tech. You may like that if you follow the tech industry. ES is what everybody else in the world is guessing on, you may like that if you enjoy betting on guessers.

3. 1) Depends what market you are talking about. ES is the most liquid, so most likely to see less slippage there b/c there are plenty of traders/volume.

2) I like Open ECry's demo as orders are more realistic. It's not perfect representation of trading live, but pretty good IMO.
    http://www.openecry.com

3) Depends on what you want:
    ES = most liquid, the major players are there. If you can conquer the ES, you will never have to trade another market as size will never be an issue.
    NQ = most 'jumpy' of your 3 options so depends if you like the moves for your trading style.