Help needed for newbie day trader

Discussion in 'Trading' started by mjdj, Feb 17, 2010.

1. mjdj

mjdj

Hi all,

I am new to day trading world of stocks. I need your suggestions in this regard.

1. Whats is the best day trading brokerage?
    2. I have 40k to start with, I heard that it takes 3 days for settlement of orders if I buy some stocks with my whole money so do I need a margin account?
    3. What are the rules for margin account. Pls suggest some web sites for more info.

Also, pls share some strategies for newbie day trader.
    Much appreciated.

2. Hey there.

I am new too. I am using thinkorswim cause I was recommended them as good with people starting up. They seem pretty cool actually, they give really fast live customer support via the platform and its totally papertrading - You can use all the facilities just as if you had a live account, and they even gave me live data (off the record) when I asked, but I did promise to get a live account funded with them (which I think I will). Its quite easy to use and when i get a question they answer me within minutes via built in chat. Everything seems good.

I dont know anything about the settlement taking that long, but for sure just ask them at thinkorswim in the live chat, and they´ll tel you straight away.

I will be funding just enough to get over PDT and they have not outlined any problems for me. Didnt even know theere was this PDT, was going to put 5k in, but gonna have to go probably 30k now.

I´d be interested in any Newbie strategies too... If anyone can help that part.

Thanks.

3. I'm in the same boat right now and here's what I've learned: