Help!!!...need fellow trader's opinions

Discussion in 'Trading' started by dedicated1, Jul 12, 2002.

1. I recently started proprietary trading and would love to know if I am getting a reasonable deal. I put no money down and am not held accountable for any losses. I get a strictly 60% payout and pay a ticket charge or $17.50 each way. I trade an average of 500 shares for 8 round trips a day. I am currently gross positive although the tickets are killing me.

Am I getting a decent deal by industry standards? Making sense of all this by weeding through the run arounds and so forth are somewhat challenging considering the nature of the biz. If you may have ANY suggestions for me I would mucho appreciate them. I am a great trader that is starting to comeback outta the ticket charge hole.

2. The ticket charges would be the final straw for me.

You can perform a search on the boards and find out plenty of information. You can literally spend hours and hours doing research. I did.

Do your research, ask questions, make phone calls, and visit some firms. The extra work will pay off. Especially in this market.

3. 500 shares ?! You need to increase your volume in a major way to justify those ticket charges.

4. If you get ten 100 share partials,do you pay 17.50 for each of the ten partials,for a total of $175.00? If you do,i'd find a firm that only charges per share like .01 or less.

5. metal1

metal1

no reason to pay those ticket charges. find a different firm

6. At least you put up no money. The ticket charge is ridiculous. If you are in NYC, email Hitman at te_bai@hotmail.com and I am sure he would offer something much better. If you are not in NYC, search for "trader" at monster.com or try to find trading firms in your area in the yahoo yellow pages. It never hurts to just call and ask if they are seeking traders. (But pleez pleez pleeez don't call during market hours. )

7. I don't know of any prop firms that are hiring right now.