Help: My Offer from a Prop Firm

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by youn7001, Oct 22, 2002.

1. youn7001

youn7001

I was offered a proprietary trader job, and wanted to judge it by your reactions. I appreciate all of your input, and I'm hoping for a lot of responses (good and bad, whatever the case may be). Thanks in advance.

(1) $0 of my own money to start
    (2) 3 days of class room training, followed by 3 months of on-the-job training; volume of shares during training is restricted to 100 shares per trade. I will not be responsible for loses. I will not be paid for gains.
    (3) After 3-months of training is up, I have a maximum of 5000 shares per trade.
    (4) No fees on the trades
    (5) 30% payout
    (6) Minimum of $5000 gross profit per month; if I fail to generate the $5000 minimum in two consecutive months, I will be fired.

I'll let you know my own thoughts later. I don't want to sway your reactions.

Thanks for your help!

2. For a complete newbie, that deal sounds good. You have zero exposure and the opportunity to learn on someone else's dime. Do you know the quality of the other traders? Is it a good environment where you can really learn something from veteran people? Have you met any of the traders? If there are good traders there who you can learn from, go for it! The payout percentage is low but zero commissions more than offsets this. You better verify the commissions, though. Most likely you'll still pay pass-thrus of some sort (ECN fees, SEC charges, bullets, etc.).

3. Dustin

Dustin

I am assuming you have little to no trading experience.

You have about a 5% chance of making $5k in your 4th and 5th month. Therefore you should expect to be fired. If you look at this as a free learning experience and you can support yourself with saved up funds, then go for it. Think of it as 5 months of free training, then you can go somewhere that has a better deal.

edit: goldenarm you beat me to it.