Help me to choose the right data provider

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by Dazuni, Mar 23, 2007.

1. Dazuni

Dazuni

Help me to choose the right data provider

Hi there,

I am a programmer with background in math and stat. I have started to build an automated trading system.

I already have sorted out the communication between servers and database and the next step is to choose the right data feed provider so that I can start having the live feed.

I would like to be able to monitor up to 1000 share / store / equity.

I would like to know which provider will be best in terms of:

Execution speed,
    Data coverage,
    Ease of usage, and
    Commission charge.

At the moment I am looking at Interactive broker, e-signal and open e cry. Of which I find IB has an entry barrier as it mentioned that registered account need to put down some money (about 3k USD) into the account on the spot.

Your opinion is welcome.

2. Have a look at http://www.opentick.com

You can't beat the price and there is quite a bit of free historical data available. Quality is a little questionable, but has improved substantially.

3. ozzie123

ozzie123

Are you looking for a data provider or a broker? I think those are a very different thing.

4. Dazuni

Dazuni

I would think that broker would provide the data, so by that I am talking about broker (that provide data).

do people actually have different data provider and broker?

how can they assure their profit when / if there is differences in the info between data provider and broker (either due to latency or other reasons)?

5. In spite of the "barrier" you speak of, IB is what you're looking for in my opinion. There is backfill data and realtime quote data. The realtime data isn't tick data, just so you know, but it does come several times/second.

Like you I'm a programmer which is part of what drew me to IB. The API is well understood with lots of good examples.