Help in Houston

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by rawman74, Aug 20, 2005.

1. I'm looking to for a job in trading in Houston. I would prefer to trade for myself but don't mind the idea of trading for someone else to get started. I had Series 7 and Series 66 licenses but they expired back in October 2004. I applied with Zone in Austin but they didnt hire (I think it's because I indicated I wasn't looking to just scalp and generate commissions for them not sure if I was too smart for my own good or just naive?) My real time trading experience is limited to a liqudity trading racket back in 2002. I just got my degree at U of H this August in Economics and History. I started learning about the markets back in 2000 taking phone calls at Van Kampen.

2. volente_00

volente_00

Try Assent, but you will need to put some risk capital up.

3. Thanks for the response. I noticed Assent had a posting on Monster recently. I guess I'm just frustrated with the lack of opportunities here in the nation's fourth largest city. Maybe I don't know where to look? I see opportuinities in smaller cities such as Austin, San Fran and Miami. Maybe firms have tried Houston in the past and realized the market isn't there?

4. Houston is an energy trading town.

5. newguy1

newguy1

last I checked, I thought velocity futures had a prop trading group.

I don't know how that all works, but I'm sure you could ask them.

6. Called them last week and they said they weren't currently hiring prop.

7. newguy1

newguy1

they've got retail accounts. Perhaps you could open one with them and trade in their office with other traders. Its not prop, but its not as bad as being all alone or going to an equity shop that requires a contribution. ( i got nothing with shops that require a contribution, its just he wanted to be fully backed).

8. tomcole

tomcole

Its not really a job if you have to put up any of your own money.

9. newguy1

newguy1

thats one way to look at it.