help. i'm a complete novice and want to understand how would buying a call and a put work.

Discussion in 'Options' started by rtw, Feb 18, 2018.

1. rtw

rtw

good day to everyone,

i'm interested in buying options for futures contracts and i could use some clarification to see if i understand how everything would work.

i'm thinking of buying 1 march 2018 e6h18 call at a strike price of 1.24500 and also 1 put at 1.31000. i don't know how long it could take me to get a real options account where i could place trades like these, but let's say i would buy those options this monday, february 19th, with limit orders, at least on paper. my plan would be to hold those contracts to expiration, so the day those options expire i would get to buy and sell 1 contract at those prices, ¿right? ¿what about the expiration of the futures contract itself? ¿would there be time enough for me to buy and sell those contracts on the open market after the options have expired but before the futures contracts expire themselves?

in the case of the trade i have just described, my estimations for the required margin are that i would need to pay the price of the call and the put (this is where i'm having the most problem, i can't discern the price for those two options from the only source i have found so far, link below) while also needing to have around 2,400 usd in my account for the e6h18 contract, ¿right? ¿is there anything i'm missing? the fluctuating market value of those 2 bought options wouldn't affect the balance in my account, ¿would it? ¿which are the brokers where i could place this kind of options trades on futures contracts through?

https://www.barchart.com/futures/quotes/E6H18/options?futuresOptionsView=split&moneyness=allRows

in the case of rbk18, i see this is a far less liquid market, still i would like to know how to discern the prices and approximate total costs of buying calls and puts for this instrument.