Help! Complete Newbie Needs Urgent Help!

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by ProfitHunter85, Oct 3, 2010.

1. Dear Traders,

My name is Bryan, from Singapore and I'm seriously looking at futures trading as a long-term lucrative career for myself.

That being said, I recognize the need to learn as much and practice as much as I can prior to starting to trade with real cash.

The problem is, with so much information out there, I'm lost. Completely lost.

At this moment, the only instrument I'm trading is penny stocks, and they are a whole lot different then futures.

I'm hoping one (or any) of you kind traders will be willing to help a complete newbie here with a list of questions that I have

1) Where exactly can I go to learn everything I can about futures trading? Are there any good, reputable online course, dvds, experts in this area, just like the stock trading arena?

2) Which is the BEST broker out there for futures trading? Currently, I'm looking at brokers like:

- TradeStation
    - TD Ameritrade
    - eTrade
    - OptionsXpress
    - INteractive Brokers
    - Light Speed

How do I determine which is the best broker amongst these? i know for a fact commissions aren't the only deciding factor here.

3) What are the exchange fees payable if I were to trade the S&P 500, Nasdaq, Dow minis? Do they differ trade by trade or are they of standard amounts?

4) What are the trading hours and days for index futures?

5) Considering I'm an intraday trader, do I necessarily have to close my positions before the closing bell or can I hold them overnight at times if/when required? Do I need to abide by any overnight margin requirements to do that?

6) Besides the futures Trading Platform given by the broker I open my account with, what other charting/data packages do I need? I've heard of people talking about Interactive Brokers and Sierra Charts, eSignal, Ninja Trader. What are all these? Don't these stuff already come in the brokers platform?