Help Choosing Components

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Eldredge, Nov 12, 2012.

1. Eldredge

Eldredge

I am seriously considering building a new trading computer. I will use it to run TWS with less than 20 symbols, and an API with a pretty typical worksheet. Probably about 15-20 charts on 4-8 1920x1080 monitors. I don't care how well the computer functions for anything else.

I appreciate good value and would like to keep the computer under $1,000 unless there is some compelling reason to go beyond that. I have never done this before, so any advice is appreciated.

Here is a list of the components I am leaning towards at the moment. Please let me know if you would suggest something different.

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($319.99 @ Amazon)
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($24.99 @ Newegg)
    Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V LE PLUS ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($159.99 @ Amazon)
    Memory: Crucial Ballistix 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($69.99 @ Newegg)
    Storage: Samsung 840 Series 120GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($100.96 @ Amazon)
    Video Card: EVGA GeForce GT 520 1GB Video Card ($34.99 @ NCIX US) 2 or 3 of these.
    Case: Cooler Master Elite 431 Plus (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($50.98 @ Amazon)
    Power Supply: Rosewill Green 630W 80 PLUS Certified ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($49.99 @ Amazon)
    Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer ($17.99 @ Newegg)
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64-bit) ($91.99 @ Amazon)
    Keyboard: Lite-On SK-1788/BS Wired Standard Keyboard ($14.97 @ Newegg)
    Mouse: Logitech B100 Wired Optical Mouse ($7.99 @ Mac Mall)
    Total: $944.82

As I said, this will be a first for me, so be gentle. Thanks for any advice or input.

2. Eldredge

Eldredge