Help a noob unwind from a position?

Discussion in 'Options' started by 76132, Dec 1, 2011.

1. 76132

Hey,

I just started trading and did something really stupid, and now I am stuck with 400 shares of something I don't want. I don't want to take a loss outright, and was wondering what some of the pros would do in my situation?

This is a pretty long post, so if you don't want to read it all, I've bolded the questions I am hoping to get answered.

- - -

Here's the situation:

Cost Basis: $2.23 per share
    Current Price: $1.23 per share

Strike prices for options are: $2.50, $5.00, and $7.50.
    Expiration dates are: Dec, Jan, April, July

Low Liquidity in both the underlying and options market.

- - -

Possible Method of Unwinding:

I am considering unwinding 200 shares of my stock at a breakeven point/possible gain/slight loss at the risk of holding 100 shares of my stock hostage. This would be great as that would get rid of half of something I don't want.

Here are the current strikes and ask prices of the Dec Put.
    K: 2.50; P: 1.40
    K: 5.00; P: 3.90
    K: 7.50; P: 6.40

As you can see, the time premium for all the Puts are the same, i.e. $0.13, since the underlying is trading at $1.23. If I were to buy one, which one should I buy?

With something as illiquid as this, would the time premium really decrease as expiration nears? In other words, should I buy it now or wait until it nears expiration?

My potential strategy is to buy two puts at a total time premium cost of $0.26. And then sell a July call at a strike price of $2.50, which has a bid price of $0.30.

This would give me a $0.04 net gain on the time premium.

I would end up holding 100 shares hostage to the July call, since I am trading with a cash account.

What do you think?

Thanks!

2. nkhoi

nkhoi

sell half (200 sh) if still not moving sell half (100 sh) etc...

3. 76132

Thanks. I'm going to look at the P/L and make my decision. I think I did some math wrong too.

4. FSU

FSU