Help a noob out- is this a risk free transaction?

Discussion in 'Options' started by doctorbonez, Aug 15, 2011.

1. I'm fairly new at options, basically have just been writing covered calls.

With the recent volatility and availability of leveraged inverse ETFs, would this be considered a risk free transaction?

Long TNA
    Sell a covered call at specific strike
    Short TZA
    sell covered call at the same strike

Theoretically, as the underlying moves one way or the other, the ETFs should cancel out the movements (say for aug so you don't loose much on the decay inherent in leveraged ETFs)
    The covered calls should theoretically should move in inverse directions as well, allowing you to capture the time decay risk free.

What am I missing?

2. donnap

donnap

If the ULs cancel each other out, then you have no cover.

Assuming that your statements are correct, you'd have the equivalent to a short straddle.

3. No such thing as risk free my friend... you can find the perfect arbitrage situation but you will always have COUNTERPARTY RISK

4. Sorry, reversed a position..

a) Long TNA (russell 2000 bullish 3x leverage)
    b) Sell a covered call of TNA at specific strike
    c) Long TZA (russell 2000 bearish 3x leverage)
    d) sell covered call of TZA at the same strike as b)

5. I'm guessing that you mean you are long both TNA and TZA and short the respective calls instead? In this case, you are only partially hedged...up until you exceed the call strike price in either direction, in which case you've capped your upside but not your downside (though you've offset it somewhat).
    This shares some similarities to an option position known as the "double diagonal spread" (except you are using shares instead of long options), so you may want to do some research on that for more information.

6. hajimow

hajimow

Let me give you my response with an example.

TNA is 48.37 and call 50 Sept is $5
    TZA is $45.06 and Call 50 Sept is $4